AFRICA (full orchestra)


Composed by Marshall McDonald and Steven Sharp Nelson, this 25-minute piece celebrates the great continent, Africa with full symphony orchestra, 8 percussion players, and full choir.

AFRICA was commissioned and performed by the Orchestra at Southern Utah in 2008. You can view a more recent performance of the world premiere on YouTube by clicking here

Themes from AFRICA were used to compose a new 7-minute piece titled "Tender Mercies" that was performed by the China Philharmonic Orchestra and recorded on Marshall McDonald and Steven Sharp Nelson's album American Journey.

This piece is only available as a PDF digital download (a link to download will be emailed to you after checkout).

AFRICA includes the following parts:

  • Full Score 
  • Flute 1
  • Flute 2
  • Oboe
  • Clarinet in Bb
  • Marimba
  • Bassoon
  • Horn in F
  • African Choir
  • Trumpet in Bb
  • Trombone
  • Tuba
  • Violin I
  • Violin II
  • Viola
  • Cello
  • Contrabass
  • Timpani
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Master Drummer
  • African Drummer
  • Percussion
  • Bass Drum

Related Items